Friday, May 24, 2019

My Summer Reading Picks for 2019


Every May I can't resist making a list of books that I envision myself reading outdoors: deck, beach, park etc.  Between Memorial Day Weekend and Labor Day (May 24th and September 2nd) these are (10) books that caught my eye - (a few are ARCS that I want to catch up on) I hope I can stick to this list and read them all.  Have you read any of these? Have you decided on any summer books you know you must read?























  1. Restoration Heights; Wil Medearis - A debut novel about a young artist, a missing woman, and the tendrils of wealth and power that link the art scene in Brooklyn to Manhattan’s elite, for fans of Jonathan Lethem and Richard Price
  2. Drawing Home; Jamie Brenner - An unexpected inheritance, a promise broken, and four lives changed forever: discover "the gold standard of summertime escapism" from USA Today bestselling author Jamie Brenner (Elin Hilderbrand).
  3. The Last Resort; Marissa Stapley - The Harmony Resort promises hope for struggling marriages. Run by celebrity power couple Drs. Miles and Grace Markell, the “last resort” offers a chance for partners to repair their relationships in a luxurious setting on the gorgeous Mayan Riviera.
  4. The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted; Robert Hillman - A tender and wise novel about love, family, and forgiveness in 1960s Australia, in which a lonely farmer finds his world turned upside down by a vibrant woman determined to open the first bookstore his town has ever seen--and to leave her haunting memories of the Holocaust far behind.
  5. The Secretary; Renee Knight - A novel of psychological suspense about the intricate power struggle between a prominent female executive and her faithful personal assistant—and its explosive consequences.
  6. If She Wakes; Michael Koryta - "an edgy suspense story...that brilliantly plays on the primal fear of being buried alive."―Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review
  7. Man of the Year; Caroline Louise Walker - Beware the Man of the Year. You may praise him, resent him, even want to be him: but beneath the elegant trappings that define him, danger looms. Caroline Louise Walker’s stunning debut novel, for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinnerand Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, delves into the increasingly paranoid mind of a man whose life as the most upstanding of citizens hides a relentlessly dark heart.
  8. The Ditch; Herman Koch - The bracing and inventive new novel of suspicions and secrecy from Herman Koch, the New York Times bestselling author of The Dinner
  9. Summer of 69; Elin Hilderbrand - Four siblings experience the drama, intrigue, and upheaval of a summer when everything changedin New York Timesbestselling author Elin Hilderbrand's first historical novel 
  10. The Turn of the Key; Ruth Ware -“Truly terrifying! Ware perfects her ability to craft atmosphere and sustain tension with each novel.” Kirkus Reviews

16 comments:

  1. That looks like a pretty nice reading pile!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I used to make lists like this but gave up because I NEVER stuck to them. I didn't realize Koryta has a new one out.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I didn't know Koch had a new novel! Hilderbrand is perfect for summer reading. Hope you enjoy all of these books.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have heard of some on your list and might want to read the bookshop one set in Australia. In any case, you have some good reads ahead!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I haven't read any of these but they all look great and perfect for summer reading. I always love the idea of reading outside but very rarely actually do it.

    ReplyDelete
  6. The only one I read on your list is Drawing Home by Jamie Brenner. I ended up thinking it was sort of meh but try it yourself. I read two of her books last year and loved both of them so this was a bit disappointing. I have Summer of 69 on my library request list already can't wait to read it. I'll wait for your reviews on the other titles.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Looks like a bunce of good reads. I'll be waiting for your reviews.

    ReplyDelete
  8. So many tempting books, with the exception of Ruth Ware's. I gave up on her after The Woman in Cabin 10.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Wow, what a summer you have planned! Lots of these are big much-anticipated releases. Looks like a great list!

    If any of these are 400 or more pages, you should sign up for my Big Book Summer Challenge! I just kicked it off today :)

    Enjoy your summer reading -

    Sue

    2019 Big Book Summer Challenge

    ReplyDelete
  10. Ack! I haven't read any of these and haven't quite wrapped my head around the fact that summer is almost here. I need more time :-)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Enjoyed If She Wakes a lot. Also reading The Secretary. Have a good summer read.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I haven't read any of theses books. Many sound tempting. It's great to have a summer reading plan.
    Have a terrific weekend, Diane!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I have The Ditch and the Ruth Ware book. I may just pick a few for the summer. I can't figure out what I want the tone to be. LOL.

    ReplyDelete
  14. A perfect list for summer reading! Enjoy!

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for taking the time to visit and double thanks for any comments. If you ask a question in your comments, I will try to reply to it here, or by email if your settings allow me to do so. Thank again for visiting.

(I apologize for the word verification, spammers spoil it for all sadly.)