Thursday, June 26, 2014

Coming Soon to a Book Store Near You - A Song for Issy Bradley; Carys Bray

Here's my "Coming Soon to a Book Store Near You" pick for today.  What do you think about this debut novel -- would you try it?  

  Ballantine - August - 2014
Description

A mesmerizing literary debut novel of doubt, faith, and perseverance in the aftermath of a family tragedy—for fans of Me Before You, Little Bee, and Tell the Wolves I’m Home.
 
The Bradleys see the world as a place where miracles are possible, and where nothing is more important than family. This is their story.

It is the story of Ian Bradley—husband, father, math teacher, and Mormon bishop—and his unshakeable belief that everything will turn out all right if he can only endure to the end, like the pioneers did. It is the story of his wife, Claire, her lonely wait for a sign from God, and her desperate need for life to pause while she comes to terms with tragedy.

And it is the story of their children: sixteen-year-old Zippy, experiencing the throes of first love; cynical fourteen-year-old Al, who would rather play soccer than read the Book of Mormon; and seven-year-old Jacob, whose faith is bigger than a mustard seed—probably bigger than a toffee candy, he thinks—and which he’s planning to use to mend his broken family with a miracle.

Intensely moving, unexpectedly funny, and deeply observed, A Song for Issy Bradley explores the outer reaches of doubt and faith, and of a family trying to figure out how to carry on when the innermost workings of their world have broken apart.

2 comments:

  1. That sounds like a really interesting family!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just spent a year living in Morman community and I am a Buddhist. I found them to be discriminating, rude and mean to anyone that is a non. They do not help those other then themselves. They shun the homeless. I found the women to be expected to do all the work while the men paraded around like roosters and believe they are saints. It is a male pathetically oriented religion that is really a cult. Will pass on this. The town I was in did not allow the children to read or watch movies. Pathetic cult. I will pass.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for taking the time to visit and double thanks for any comments. If you ask a question in your comments, I will try to reply to it here, or by email if your settings allow me to do so. Thank again for visiting.