Friday, January 1, 2016

Favorite Books of 2015

Another year is nearly over and as I look back over what I've read this year, I kind of surprised myself.  This year I read 114 books but, that was nearly (30) fewer books than 2014. I guess I really am busier in retirement than when I was working full time.  Did any of these books make your list of favorite reads?


Favorite Reads for 2015

A Little Life
it was amazing
When I first decided to read this book, I thought that the cover image was a terrible choice, however, after finishing this 700+ pp book over the course of a few weeks, I now think the image is perfect. It so accurately depicts the emot...
Aquarium
it was amazing
Aquarium is an addictive read that hooked me early on, shocked me as the story progressed and made me wonder whether emotionally wounded individuals can ever truly heal. The story opens in 1990's Seattle, where 12-year-old Caitlin live...
The Beautiful Bureaucrat
it was amazing
When I saw that readers who enjoy Murakami and Atwood would likely enjoy this book, I knew I had to give it a try. It's a great choice for book groups with plenty to discuss. After being out of work for way too long Joseph and Josephine...
Ghostly: A Collection of Ghost Stories
it was amazing
Ghostly, was a pleasant surprise, an awesome collection of short ghost stories. Each story can be completed in a short sitting, preferably by a nice warm fire or glowing candle with something warm to drink. Each story begins with a sma...
Eileen
it was amazing
Just who is Eileen? In a town only referred to as X-ville in Massachusetts lived 24 year old Eileen Dunlop. Some might see her simply as a lonely young woman with low self esteem who cares for her alcoholic ex-cop father. To me, Eileen w...
What I Remember Most
it was amazing
What I Remember Most was a terrific story and one that kept me wondering as I eagerly turned each page. Part mystery, part contemporary fiction, the only thing that the reader knows for sure is that the protagonist, Grenadine Scotch Wild...
Our Souls at Night
it was amazing
I loved this audiobook narrated by Mark Bramhall. The story left me feeling a bit sad, and with a thought that I often ask myself these days -- "Why can't people just live and let live?" The story is a pretty simple one and involves two...
Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End
it was amazing
It took me a while to write this review because it covered so much important information, I wasn't sure possibly write a review that would it all the credit it deserved, as I'm sure I will have glossed over lots of important information....
This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance!
it was amazing
This is Your Life, Harriet Chance is a wonderful story told through the POV of Harriet, a 78 year old widow who had been married for 55 years. After her husband Bernard passes away, Harriet learns he had planned an Alaskan cruise for ...
Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory
it was amazing
While many people choose not to think about death and dying, 20-something author Caitlin Doughty was obsessed by it at an early age. At the age of eight she performed a ritual the she believed would help keep death at bay. After growing ...

goodreads.com

10 comments:

  1. Aquarium made my list and This Is Your Life, Harriet Chance! made my first list but didn't make the final cut. I've thought of grabbing the audio of A Little Life but it's so long and I don't have enough road trips planned right now.

    ReplyDelete
  2. You always have the best best of list!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yeesh, I haven't ready of these! I do own "A Little Life" and "Being Mortal," but I have yet to actually read them.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love reading everyone's best book list. I always come away with one or two to put on my own TBR.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Sounds like it was a great reading year for you, Diane! I've heard lots of rave reviews of A Little Life but some of the other you chose as your top picks are new to me - I'll have to add these to my TBR list!

    Great list! I hope 2016 brings just as many outstanding books to you!

    Sue

    Book By Book

    ReplyDelete
  6. I LOVED A Little Life, and you're so right about the cover. It is Jude all the way. The Beautiful Bureaucrat was one that I didn't like the first go around but reread it and then loved the creepiness of it. Great choices for your favorites. :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I also read Beautiful Bureaucrat this past year, but I didn't give it 5 stars. Atwood's The Heart Goes Last, on the other hand, made my top 2015 list!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I haven't read any of these books, but they all sound great. No wonder they made your list. So glad you're keeping busy in your retirement.:-)

    ReplyDelete
  9. I also read less than I did last year- less pages as well. I'll have to pick up Ghostly- my mother and I have a mutual obsession with ghost stories. Excellent list!
    ~Litha Nelle

    ReplyDelete
  10. I so want to read A Little Life...but kinda afraid to; think it's one I'm definitely going to need to be in the right from of mind for.

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for taking the time to visit and double thanks for any comments. If you ask a question in your comments, I will try to reply to it here, or by email if your settings allow me to do so. Thank again for visiting.

(I apologize for the word verification, spammers spoil it for all sadly.)