Monday, July 15, 2019

Summer Reading Check In and New Book Arrivals


Right before Memorial Day I posted a list of 10 Books I hoped to read this summer.  I haven't even looked at the list since then and was curious whether I stayed on plan or not. I was surprised to see that I've read 4/10 and am on a 5th one right now.  (None were outstanding but, a few were in solid reads) Here's an update:

  • Restoration Heights; Wil Medearis - A debut novel about a young artist, a missing woman, and the tendrils of wealth and power that link the art scene in Brooklyn to Manhattan’s elite, for fans of Jonathan Lethem and Richard Price (finished in June)
  • Drawing Home; Jamie Brenner - An unexpected inheritance, a promise broken, and four lives changed forever: discover "the gold standard of summertime escapism" from USA Today bestselling author Jamie Brenner (Elin Hilderbrand).
  • The Last Resort; Marissa Stapley - The Harmony Resort promises hope for struggling marriages. Run by celebrity power couple Drs. Miles and Grace Markell, the “last resort” offers a chance for partners to repair their relationships in a luxurious setting on the gorgeous Mayan Riviera.
  • The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted; Robert Hillman - A tender and wise novel about love, family, and forgiveness in 1960s Australia, in which a lonely farmer finds his world turned upside down by a vibrant woman determined to open the first bookstore his town has ever seen--and to leave her haunting memories of the Holocaust far behind.
  • The Secretary; Renee Knight - A novel of psychological suspense about the intricate power struggle between a prominent female executive and her faithful personal assistant—and its explosive consequences. (finished-June)
  • If She Wakes; Michael Koryta - "an edgy suspense story...that brilliantly plays on the primal fear of being buried alive."―Marilyn Stasio, New York Times Book Review (finished July - no review yet)
  • Man of the Year; Caroline Louise Walker - Beware the Man of the Year. You may praise him, resent him, even want to be him: but beneath the elegant trappings that define him, danger looms. Caroline Louise Walker’s stunning debut novel, for fans of Herman Koch’s The Dinnerand Shari Lapena’s The Couple Next Door, delves into the increasingly paranoid mind of a man whose life as the most upstanding of citizens hides a relentlessly dark heart.
  • The Ditch; Herman Koch - The bracing and inventive new novel of suspicions and secrecy from Herman Koch, the New York Times bestselling author of The Dinner (finished - June)
  • Summer of 69; Elin Hilderbrand - Four siblings experience the drama, intrigue, and upheaval of a summer when everything changedin New York Timesbestselling author Elin Hilderbrand's first historical novel  (in progress-July)
  • The Turn of the Key; Ruth Ware -“Truly terrifying! Ware perfects her ability to craft atmosphere and sustain tension with each novel.” Kirkus Reviews

  • Are you enjoying your summer choices?


    NEW BOOKS


    I think it has been several weeks since I posted new books that arrived by mail from publishers. Take a peek, I thought they looked pretty good. Have you read any of them yet?

    12 comments:

    1. All of them new to me. I'm generally a bit behind!

      ReplyDelete
    2. Nice mailbox. I have to finish the Secretary!

      ReplyDelete
    3. I'm impressed you've stuck with your plan! What Does An Anteater Eat? sounds cute to me.

      ReplyDelete
    4. Good going! My summer reading so far has been excellent. I am jealous that you already have a copy of The Butterfly Girl.

      ReplyDelete
    5. I'm impressed with your summer reading progress! I'm interested in the Ruth Ware book. I have The Death of Mrs. Westaway in my summer TBR pile. What Does An Anteater Eat? looks adorable!

      ReplyDelete
    6. I only chose four books for summer and have yet to finish one. Only because I waited until the last minute to read my book club pick, which is non fiction and that always throws me for a loop. Oh, and these darn classes that took up all of my time somehow even though I wasn't the one taking them.

      ReplyDelete
    7. The only one I've read is Summer of '69, and I loved it!

      ReplyDelete
    8. That is quite the list and quite a few I like!

      ReplyDelete
    9. I enjoyed The Bookshop of the Broken Hearted and my wife tells me she liked Summer of '69. You're doing great for what I consider to be the exact halfway mark of the summer (I know that point comes at different times for different people, though).

      ReplyDelete
    10. Your summer reading is impressive! Many of your selections appeal to me, but I have so many books on hand already, so...

      ReplyDelete
    11. I'll be curious to see if you like The Butterfly Girl. Great author.

      ReplyDelete

    Thanks for taking the time to visit and double thanks for any comments. If you ask a question in your comments, I will try to reply to it here, or by email if your settings allow me to do so. Thank again for visiting.